Partner Steve Hogan to moderate upcoming 2021 IRS Summit

September 2, 2021

Partner Steve Hogan will be moderating a panel at this upcoming 2021 IRS Summit with discussions on the uncertainties surrounding The US Tax Court’s recent experiences with Conservation Easements, estate planning under Biden Administration, current IRS examination practices and the current state of Minority Interest Discounts in real estate holding companies.

AI: 5.5 Hrs

8: 00 AM – Welcome & Introductions
Eric Garfield, MAI, CCIM – Event Chair
Steve Henry, MAI– 2021 SCCAI President

Appraisal Institute – The Latest from AI’s National Government and External Relations office and Latest from SCCAI
Bill Garber – AI Director for Government and External Relations
Steve Henry, MAI – 2021 SCCAI President

Judge’s Panel View from the Bench
KEYNOTE SPEAKER: Honorable Albert G. Lauber, Senior Judge, United States Tax Court
Moderator: Michael Zarefsky, Esq. – Retired IRS Estate Tax Attorney and Estate & Gift Appeals Officer


Professor’s Panel:
State of the Estate Tax and the Biden Administration’s Strategies
Professor Ed McCaffery of USC Tax Institute
Moderator: Eric Garfield, MAI

Los Angeles Attorney Panel:
Tools of the Trade – What estate planners are doing under the existing laws to assist their clients in tax planning strategies.
Robert Strauss, Esq. – Weinstock Manion, ALC.
Eric Bardwell, Esq. – Jeffer Mangels Butler & Mitchell, LLP
David Elbaz, Esq. – Kopple Klinger & Elbaz, LLP
Moderator: Steve Hogan, Esq. – Lurie Zepeda, Schmalz, Hogan & Martin


IRS Panel:
Current Trends, Penalties, 8283s and other things Appraisers Should Know
Frank Molinari, SRA, CVA
Howard Kanter, IRS Lead Appraiser
Alex Nicholaides, Esq., Senior Counsel, IRS

Current State of Minority Interest Discounts in Valuations
Phil Schwab, ASA – Stout; Orange County
Chris Mercer, FASA, CFA, ABAR– Mercer Capital; Tennessee
Espen Robak, CFA – Pluris Valuation; NYC
Moderator: Phil Jones, CPA, ABV, ASA, CFE – C&W; Los Angeles

1:30 PM Closing Remarks
Steve Henry, MAI – 2021 SCCAI President